Reviews


Reviews for The Serpent King




Very reminiscent of Indiana Jones for a younger audience ... it's an exciting read and the female characters are as brave and clever as the males so it would appeal to both boys and girls - a great read for lovers of quest computer games and would-be explorers.
The School Librarian
 This book was an amazing piece of fiction. It was full of adventure and drama. This book is on my favourite list!
Primary Times, Alex's Reviews


Reviews for The Dragon Path


I loved this book because it is adventurous and mysterious. The characters are interesting and unique. Ryan is artistic and funny, Cleo has no sense of direction and is very literal, but together they make a fantastic team! ...
I would recommend this book to children 8-11 who like books by Enid Bylton, JK Rowling and Caroline Lawrence, but you should definitely read the first Secret of the Tombs book, The Phoenix Code, first.
SuperBen, Guardian Children's Book Site

For the full review click here 


This is one of those brilliant books where likeable young people who are so real they could be in your class at school get to wander around the most amazing places on earth. There are thrills and danger at every turn, but along the way, and quite without noticing it, the reader finds out all kinds of cool stuff, like the fabulous treasures emperors stashed in their tombs for the afterlife, and what revolutionaries tucked inside their mooncakes. You discover how Louis XIV and Napoleon communicated safely with their allies, and why some Chinese people avoid certain numbers. But the book is, first and foremost, a rip-roaring, white-knuckle quest, and should definitely be top of the list for holiday reading this summe . . .
The Bookbag



Reviews for The Phoenix Code


Since I read the first page of this book my eyes have been glued to the paper. I loved the style of the book and it was written in a way that didn’t let me let it go. I am itching to read the second book.
 Books, chocolate and wine, Kids' Corner
For the full review, click here
There's a fast-moving plot, plenty of cliff-hangers and unexpected bad-guys, with humour provided by interplay between happy-go-lucky Ryan and nerdy Cleo in this engaging, informative ancient historical mystery.
Booktrust bookbuzz
(for the full review, click here)
 A thrilling mystery story which crackles with tension as the secrets of a tomb that has closed for 3000 years is about to be opened.
 Julia Eccleshare, LoveReading4Kids
(for the full review, click here) 

Guardian Best Kids' Books Supplement, 28.6.14

As I'd come to expect from the earlier series there's a great plot with a challenging mystery for the heroes to solve and a huge amount of action packed into the book.
YA Yeah Yeah
(for the full review, click here)
Fans of Indiana Jones and Percy Jackson will love this!
World Book Day Round-up
A perfect setting for this, the first in a new series of thrillers which combines intriguing landscapes, archaeology and adventure . . . In Ryan and Cleo she has created two delightful characters with whom readers will readily identify . . . Their consequent misunderstandings and worries form a gently amusing framework to the main action, lightening moments of tension and providing useful life lessons. Guys – never make a joke about a girl's name, for example!
 . . .  It is definitely a book for both boys and girls, and really should not be missed by any fan of history or adventure: it is excellent! 
Five stars!
The Bookbag
(for the full review, click here)

Daily Record Saturday Magazine 26.7.14
It’s a children’s version of the adult historical treasure thrillers à la Dan Brown/Steve Berry type (and I mean that in the best possible way – great plots, edge of the seat suspense), and it’s every bit as exciting and very well-written . . . draws the reader in from page one and once I’d started, I didn’t want to put the book down. It sizzles along with never a dull moment, and the reader can’t help but like the two young protagonists and root for them as they try to outwit the (adult) villains
Historical Novel Society
(For full review, click here)

Dan Brown for kids. My 9 year old loved this Egyptian adventure story.
Matt Taylor, Chepstow Bookshop

This book is even better than the Adventure Island series and it is such a page-turner. It is as exciting and fun to read, but it is also interesting and you learn about Ancient Egypt. I think the characters are good for the book because Cleo is quite sensible and serious and Ryan is quite funny and artistic so they make a good team.

I would recommend this book to boys and girls who have read the Adventure Island books and who are 7 to 10 years old.
SuperBen, Guardian Children's Books Reader Reviews
(click here for the full review)

We read the book at bedtime and normally we only read a chapter a night but we found that there were lots of cliff-hangers in the book and we couldn’t put it down! This meant that instead of one chapter a night it was increasing to two and sometimes three so it was a good job we were reading it near to the end of term!
Catherine Joyce, Whatsgoodtodo
(click here for the full review )
If you have enjoyed The History Keepers and The Secret Breakers, even if you enjoyed Helen Moss' other series, The Adventure Island, featured on here, you will love this book. The best bit???? The title "Secret of the Tombs 1" suggests that this will be the first of a series about Cleo and Ryan!
Knoll Best Books Blog
click here for the full review
The Phoenix Code is a brilliant book and is definitely a must buy for anyone who likes adventure and mystery books.
Jed Owens (11)
click here for the full review
This book is full of conspiracy, murder and mystery and makes for a very exciting read. It has lots of references to famous Egyptian Pharaohs, such as Tutankhamun, Akhenaten and Queen Nefertiti, which I found very interesting and informative.
My Kind of Book blog
click here for full review

The book is so good as it’s tightly paced and it doesn’t reveal too much in each chapter, giving a sense of trepidation and a foreboding atmosphere. It puts you into a world of mystery, trickery, secrets and adventure: you feel like you are in the book and that’s what makes this book so special.
I finished it in two nights. It was so good I couldn’t put it down. I even secretly read it when I was meant to be asleep. For those who like Harry Potter, The Hunger Games or Divergent, it’s a must-read.
Connor Jewiss, 12, Kidaround Magazine




No comments:

Post a Comment